This park area near the historic train depot is nestled under rows of century old live oaks and provides a wonderful place to relax or begin a walking or biking tour of the nearby area.
Address: Bookter and Union Streets, Bay St. Louis, MS 39520
Historic Bay St. Louis City Hall
Built in 1905, this classic Roman and Greek revival architectural marvel is a Mississippi landmark building and survived both Hurricane Camille (1968) and Katrina (2005). City Park sits next door, with the “Shoo-Fly Oak,” a beautiful oak tree ringed by a wraparound deck. Tennis courts and a playground are open to the public.
Address: 302 South Second St., Bay St. Louis, MS 39520
This two-story mission style depot was built in 1929 and is surrounded by the depot district’s park-like grounds. A Mississippi Landmark, it was once the heartbeat of the county and the backdrop for the classic Tennessee Williams film, “This Property is Condemned” starring Robert Redford and Natalie Wood. The depot is home to the Hancock County Tourism Bureau and Visitors’ Center and the Alice Moseley Folk Art and Antique Museum. Admission is free.
Address: 1928 Depot Way, Bay St. Louis, MS 39520
Browse through photos, documents, historical data, and special collections depicting life in this small town before and after Hurricane Katrina
Address: 108 Cue St., Bay St. Louis, MS 39520
Drive your own car and follow the leader to hear legends of Kiln moonshine from author Al Saucier.
Tours cost $21 per person. There is a minimum of four people and a maximum of 10 people per tour per day.
Tour Mississippi’s only state-operated museum dedicated exclusively to our military history. Hundreds of artifacts and dioramas represent all branches of the military. There is also a small gift shop. Admission is free.
Hours: T-Sa., 9am-4pm
Address: Building 850, Camp Shelby, MS 39407
Begun in 1907 and completed in 1926, Our Lady of the Gulf is the fifth oldest Catholic parish in Mississippi. Stained glass, Italian art High Altar, marble, and ceiling illustrations make this church awe-inspiring.
Address: 228 South Beach Blvd., Bay St. Louis, MS 39520
Founded in 1926, this is one of the most vibrant and integrated churches in south Mississippi. The St. Rose Choir is nationally known, and two CDs are credited to their name and one to the men’s choir. “Christ in the Oaks,” the mural across the sanctuary, creates a sense of awe and majesty to all who enter. A donation is asked in lieu of admission.
Address: 301 South Necaise Ave., Bay St. Louis, MS 39520
Phone: 228-467-7347 or 228-463-9222
Brothers of the Sacred Heart have been running this boys Catholic boarding school since 1854. Set on the water’s edge under ancient oaks, St. Stanislaus boasts some notable alumni including Doc Blanchard, famed Army football player who was the winner of the Heisman, Maxwell, and Sullivan trophies. (The trophies are on display unless on temporary loan to a museum.) A donation is asked in lieu of admission.
Address: 304 South Beach Blvd., Bay St. Louis, MS 39520
The Trust Bed & Breakfast Tour
This circa 1850 home is filled with antiques and stories of the past. Old South grandeur and the gracious living of a bygone era come alive in this historic home near the Depot District of Bay Saint Louis. Tours cost $5 per person. Stop by or call for an appointment.
Address: 204 Bookter St., Bay St. Louis, MS 39520
Phone: 800-331-9046 or 228-467-5715
Some 4,000 model ships, autos, aircraft, and military armor are on display. Admission is free. Please call for an appointment to view this exceptional private collection.
Address: 117-B Hwy. 90, Waveland, MS 39576